Arts & Culture

An MTSU professor will peek behind the prison bars of the Netflix series “Orange is the New Black” in an upcoming lecture.”

Dr. Clare Bratten, a professor in the Department of Electronic Media Communication, will present “Orange is the New Black: How We Talk about the Show” at 3 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 26, in Room 100 of the James Union Building.

A math master is the latest professor to be honored with MTSU’s annual John Pleas Faculty Award.

Dr. Michaele Chappell, a professor of mathematics education and program coordinator for the Masters of Science in Teaching program, will receive the award at a ceremony to begin at 3 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 26, in the Tom Jackson Building. This Black History Month event is free and open to the public.

“I am honored and appreciative to be selected,” Chappell said. “Considering I was unaware of the nomination, it came as a pleasant and delightful surprise.”

A month of interactive and entertaining National Women’s History Month activities at MTSU will begin with an event honoring the late Dr. Maya Angelou.

The opening ceremony is slated for 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, March 3, in the atrium of the James E. Walker Library. The MTSU Gospel Choir and MTSU Jazz Ensemble will perform and students will deliver a spoken-word tribute.

Angelou, a poet, educator, dramatist and civil rights activist, died May 28, 2014. Her legacy includes authorship of 36 books, including “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” and “Gather Together in My Name.”

An MTSU professor’s contribution to a new book has helped alter the discussion about the origins of humankind on the North American continent.

Dr. Hugh Berryman is the author of a chapter in “Kennewick Man: The Scientific Investigation of an Ancient American Skeleton,” which was published in late 2014 by Texas A&M University Press.

Professors now have more time to apply for money to infuse courses with the experiences and perspectives of women is available at MTSU.

The new deadline is Monday, March 16, for faculty to apply for the Curriculum Integration Grants offered by the university’s President’s Commission on the Status of Women.