Mike Pesca http://wmot.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://wmot.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 34245 at http://wmot.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl Two Long-Time Braves And A Slugger Go To The Hall Of Fame http://wmot.org/post/two-long-time-braves-and-slugger-go-hall-fame Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>Pitchers Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux were Atlanta Braves teammates, Cy Young Award winners and, as of this afternoon, they are the newest members of Major League Baseball's Hall of Fame. Also making the hall was the slugger known as the Big Hurt, Frank Thomas.<p>But some of the game's most notable players were kept out again this year by the baseball writers, the taint of performance-enhancing drugs still overshadowing their careers. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:53:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 33300 at http://wmot.org An Inside Look That Strips The Face Paint Off The NFL http://wmot.org/post/inside-look-strips-face-paint-nfl Nicholas Dawidoff's <em>Collision Low Crossers: A Year Inside the Turbulent World of NFL Football</em> may be the best book I've ever read about football. It is certainly the most detailed account of the players inside the helmets and the coaches obscured from an enthralled public by large, laminated playsheets.<p>Like a brilliant coach, Dawidoff's approach relies on smart tactics and skillful execution. First of all, he outworked the competition, living with the New York Jets all year. Sat, 23 Nov 2013 21:38:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 31659 at http://wmot.org An Inside Look That Strips The Face Paint Off The NFL Reversed Call Gives Sox Opening To Win World Series Game One http://wmot.org/post/reversed-call-gives-sox-opening-win-world-series-game-one Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The St. Louis Cardinals hope to come back against the Boston Red Sox in game two of the World Series tonight. In game one, well, just about nothing went right with the Cardinals. NPR's Mike Pesca joins us. He's covering these games from Boston. Hey there, Mike.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: Hi.<p>CORNISH: So, in the first inning, there was this big mistaken call by the umpire at second base and then a reversal of that call. What happened?<p>PESCA: David Ortiz grounds to second, second baseman flips it to the shortstop. So that should have started a double play. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 20:23:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 30491 at http://wmot.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' http://wmot.org/post/fetch-clay-make-man-ali-fetchit-and-anchor-punch ---<p>Muhammad Ali's first title defense, a first-round TKO of Sonny Liston in 1965, <a href="http://life.time.com/icons/muhammad-ali-sonny-liston-and-the-phantom-punch-title-bout-1965/#1" target="_blank">propelled Ali to the status of icon</a>. In Ali's training camp before the fight was an icon from an earlier era: Lincoln Perry. He was the first African-American movie star, who went by the stage name Stepin Fetchi. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 30003 at http://wmot.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch'