Sonari Glinton http://wmot.org en Toyota Pulls Over 6 Million Vehicles Worldwide http://wmot.org/post/toyota-pulls-over-6-million-vehicles-worldwide Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Another major auto recall today, this time it's Toyota. The Japanese auto giant is recalling 6.4 million vehicles worldwide for a variety of defects, including problems with seat rails and airbags. No injuries have been reported. NPR's Sonari Glinton reports this particular recall is not happening in a vacuum.<p>SONARI GLINTON, BYLINE: Less than a month ago, Toyota was hit with a $1.2 billion fine for the way it handled a recall mess from several years ago. Right now, General Motors has been embroiled in a scandal for how it handled a decade-old problem. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 37072 at http://wmot.org Just How New Is The 'New' GM? http://wmot.org/post/just-how-new-new-gm During her grilling before Congress last week, General Motors CEO Mary Barra insisted the new General Motors is different and better than the old one.<p>So as GM begins to fix nearly 2.6 million vehicles for an ignition-switch defect that has been linked to at least 13 deaths, we decided to put that claim to the test.<p>Exactly how new is the new GM?<p>NBC's <em>Saturday Night Live</em> answered with <a href="http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/gm-hearings-cold-open/2770788">a parody version</a> of Barra's explanation:<p>"I can't speak to how the old GM would handle an issue like this Tue, 08 Apr 2014 07:42:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 36979 at http://wmot.org Just How New Is The 'New' GM? The Long Road To GM's Ignition Switch Recall http://wmot.org/post/long-road-gms-ignition-switch-recall The new head of General Motors, Mary Barra, goes to Capitol Hill Tuesday to begin two days of testimony.<p>It's the first time she'll be questioned about a safety defect that's been linked to at least 13 deaths and has sparked a 2.6 million-vehicle recall.<p>At issue for the Detroit CEO is a classic question: What did GM know about the problems with ignition switch problems in its cars, and when did the company know it?<p>And just as important for GM and government regulators is the follow-up question: Why did no one act sooner?<p>In the recent history of General Motors, there's one car that s Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:13:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 36669 at http://wmot.org The Long Road To GM's Ignition Switch Recall As Carmakers Turn Up The Recalls, Consumers Tune Out http://wmot.org/post/carmakers-turn-recalls-consumers-tune-out In the past week, Volkswagen recalled 150,000 Passats because of potential hood problems that could damage the headlights, and Honda recalled 900,000 Odyssey vans because of a potential fire hazard.<p>Those moves follow the recent General Motors recall of 1.6 million vehicles over a faulty ignition switch, which has been linked to 12 deaths. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 36254 at http://wmot.org As Carmakers Turn Up The Recalls, Consumers Tune Out Toyota's $1.2B Settlement Puts Criminal Probe To Rest http://wmot.org/post/toyotas-12b-settlement-puts-criminal-probe-rest Toyota will pay $1.2 billion to end a federal criminal probe into a vehicle recall. Federal regulators said five people died in accidents related to unintended acceleration prior to the recall. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 36156 at http://wmot.org