Weather Service Tornado Report for Feb. 29 Storms

Apr 24, 2012

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. (WMOT)  --  The National Weather Service has concluded its investigation of the tornados that struck Tennessee February 29 and March 2.

A total of six tornados caused damage in eight counties, including Cheatham, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentrass, Jackson, Putman, Overton  and White counties.

Two of the tornados were classified as EF0, the lowest designation, while two more were classified as EF1, and the final two were EF2. An EF 2 can have sustained winds of up to 135 miles an hour.

Most of the tornados were brief, but two remained on the ground for several miles. An EF1 tornado tore a 13 mile long path across parts of Dekalb and White counties Feburary 29.  An EF2 twister bulldozed and 11 mile long trail across portions of Jackson, Putnam and Overton Counties on March 2.

Three Tennesseans died as a result of the twisters with another eight people injured.

Ten Tennessee counties were designated federal disaster areas as a result of the storms.