Tue March 26, 2013

Symphony Spring Fashion Show Highlights Two Musical Headliners

Karen Elson and LEAGUES will perform at the Nashville Symphony Spring Fashion Show, presented by Lexus of Nashville on April 9 at Schermerhorn Symphony Center. Music City’s biggest annual runway show, the event will be emceed by CMT personality Allison DeMarcus and will feature Monique Lhuillier’s Fall 2013 Collection. Sponsored by Genesco, Gus Mayer and the Nashville Symphony Orchestra League, the Symphony Spring Fashion Show raises funds for the educational and artistic programs of the Nashville Symphony.

Read more


Tue March 12, 2013

Star-Crossed Lovers Take Stage in Nashville Ballet Original

Nashville Ballet to Present Romeo and Juliet

Described by The Tennessean as “enthralling” when it debuted in 2004, Vasterling’s Romeo & Juliet returns to TPAC’s Jackson Hall April 26 – 28 to tell the tale of a love so powerful that nothing could contain it – not feuding families, not youth – not even life itself.

Read more


Tue March 5, 2013

Murfreesboro Symphony Orchestra to Present Music of Heaven and Earth

MURFREESBORO, Tenn.  --  On Thursday , March 7, the Murfreesboro Symphony and The Murfreesboro Symphony Chorus will present “Music of Heaven and Earth.” 

The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. at First United Methodist Church on 265 West Thompson Lane in Murfreesboro and will include the Requiem by Gabriel Faure,  John Rutter’s For the Beauty of the Earth  and Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony.  Guest soloist will be soprano Dina Cancryn and the MSO Chorus is directed by Angela Tibbs.

Read more


Wed February 13, 2013

Music City Baroque Celebrates the Music of G. F. Handel

Music City Baroque presents Music by Handel

Led by Guest Director Brent Wissick

Sunday, March 17 at 3:00 p.m.


Music City Baroque presents Music by Handel, led by guest director Brent Wissick, part of the First Presbyterian Church 2012-13 Concert Series

DATE and TIME:  Sunday, March 17, 2013 at 3:00 p.m.

PLACE:  First Presbyterian Church, 4815 Franklin Pike, Nashville, TN  37220

Read more


Wed February 13, 2013

A Tour of Musical Europe, 1664-1741 at Blair School of Music, Vanderbilt Monday, March 11 at 7:30 p

Kathleen McIntosh

A Tour of Musical Europe, 1664-1741:  Music for violin, viola da gamba and harpsichord will take place  Monday, March 11, 2013 at 7:30 p.m. at the  Blair School of Music, Vanderbilt University, 2400 Blakemore Ave., Nashville


Karen Clarke, violin (faculty, Vanderbilt University)

Brent Wissick, viola da gamba (faculty, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Kathleen McIntosh, harpsichord (Santa Fe, NM)

Read more